Sleep disordered breathing and stroke

Upload time:2017-02-23 Browse:

Author: Peking Union Medical College Hospital Hao Honglin
Sleep disordered breathing (SDB) and sleep wake disorder (SWD) are common in stroke patients, with a prevalence rate of 43-70%, while the prevalence in the general population is 4-24%. Recent studies have suggested that sleep disordered breathing and sleep wake disorders are both risk factors for stroke and the consequences of stroke, which may affect the recovery, outcome and recurrence of stroke. Stroke after sleep apnea obstructive sleep apnea (OSA), or central apnea (CSA) or both, of which OSA OSA is more common, sleep when the upper airway stenosis or mechanical collapse leading to respiratory airflow disruption, while CSA is breathing in pivot drive due to a lack of. Sleep disordered breathing can be characterized by snoring, hypoxia, apnea, frequent awakenings, asthma, asphyxia, and so on.
Pleural pressure increases, atrial remodeling, conduction abnormalities, and even lead to atrial fibrillation OSA night repeated hypoxia hypoxic, oxidative stress activates the sympathetic nerve and the renin angiotensin aldosterone system caused by hypertension and increased plasma fibrinogen level and platelet aggregation increased, resulting in a hypercoagulable state. OSA mediated inflammation aggravates atherosclerosis and hypertension.
OSA can cause chronic hypoxia and hypercapnia, together with high blood pressure, together lead to systemic vascular and cerebral vascular reconstruction, damage to the brain. When hypoxia and hypercapnia, cerebral blood flow from low perfusion to high perfusion area, further aggravated the OSA stroke patients with secondary nerve damage. On the contrary, CSA after stroke is due to brain damage leading to insufficient respiratory muscle afferent signal. The reaction of medulla on blood CO2 levels are low, and the autonomy of the neural network to the hypoxia sensitive, can control breath, but due to bilateral hemispheric cerebral infarction is damaged.
Because of the high risk of sleep disordered breathing in stroke patients, it is recommended that patients with stroke be evaluated for sleep. There is evidence that effective treatment for patients with OSA after stroke can improve the prognosis and reduce the recurrence of stroke. Application of CPAP in the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea. Central sleep apnea can be considered with oxygen therapy, BiPAP, and matched servo ventilation (ASV).
Sleep apnea increases the risk of stroke in the general population, and affects the recovery of short-term or long-term stroke. The current level of awareness supports the diagnosis and treatment of sleep disordered breathing and sleep wake disorders after stroke.
Reference:
Hermann DM, Bassetti CL. of breathing sleep-wake disturbances stroke stroke recovery.Neurology. 2016; 87 (13): 1407-16. Role (for) and, and
Blissitt PA. Breathing Stroke: Nursing Stroke. 2017 Feb 13 Implications

睡眠呼吸障碍与卒中

上传时间:2017-02-23 浏览次数:

作者:北京协和医院  郝红琳

睡眠呼吸障碍(SDB)和睡眠觉醒障碍(SWD)在卒中患者中很常见,患病率在43-70%之间,而在普通人群中患病率4-24%。近期研究提示睡眠呼吸障碍和睡眠觉醒障碍既是卒中的危险因素也是卒中的后果,并影响卒中的恢复、结局和复发。卒中后睡眠呼吸障碍表现为阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停(OSA)、或中枢性呼吸暂停(CSA)或两者兼有,其中以OSA更常见,OSA是睡眠呼吸时上气道机械性狭窄或塌陷导致呼吸气流中断,而CSA则是呼吸的中枢驱动力缺乏导致。睡眠呼吸障碍可以表现为打鼾、低氧、呼吸暂停以及频繁觉醒伴气喘、窒息等,导致白天过度嗜睡和疲劳。
OSA时夜间反复低氧导致胸腔压增加、心房重塑、电传导异常、甚至房颤,间断低氧的氧化应激作用激活了交感神经和肾素-血管紧张素-醛固酮系统,引起高血压、血浆纤维蛋白原水平增高及血小板聚集性增加,导致高凝状态。OSA介导的炎症反应加重了动脉粥样硬化和高血压。

OSA可以引起的慢性缺氧和高碳酸血症,与高血压一起,共同导致全身血管和脑血管重建,损害脑自动调节能力。当低氧和高碳酸血症时,脑血流从低灌注转移到高灌注区,进一步加重了OSA卒中患者继发的神经损害。相反,卒中后CSA是由于脑损害导致对呼吸肌驱动的传入信号不足导致。延髓对血CO2水平增高的反应性较低,而自主神经网络对低氧敏感,可以控制呼吸,却由于双侧半球脑梗时受损。

由于卒中患者发生睡眠呼吸障碍的风险很高,因此推荐对卒中患者进行睡眠评估。有证据表明有效治疗卒中后OSA患者可以改善预后、减少卒中复发。推荐应用CPAP治疗阻塞性睡眠呼吸障碍。中枢性睡眠呼吸障碍可以考虑用氧疗、BiPAP、匹配伺服通气(ASV)方法。

睡眠呼吸障碍增加普通人群的卒中危险,影响短期或长期的卒中恢复及结局。目前认识水平支持卒中单元内诊断和治疗卒中后睡眠呼吸障碍和睡眠觉醒障碍。

参考文献:
  1. Hermann DM, Bassetti CL. Role of sleep-disordered breathing and sleep-wake disturbances for stroke and stroke recovery.Neurology. 2016;87(13):1407-16.
  2. Blissitt PA. Sleep-Disordered Breathing After Stroke: Nursing Implications. Stroke. 2017 Feb 13.